Odell IPA

I know I’ve been letting this blog basically collect dust, partly through being really busy with classes and such but partly through sheer apathy. I’ve recently gotten some interesting stuff from out of state from some friends, so I figured why not bring back some simple text reviews? (Thanks to Lidney for the bottle.)

Today we’ll be taking a look at Odell IPA. And yes, I’m having a lunch beer. It’s summer break. Don’t judge me.

wpid-wp-1399999102136.jpg

Pours orange-yellow with a billowy white head into my nonic. Orange, tangerine, hints of pineapple diffuse into the air. Smells like a melted creamsicle.

Taste is hugely grapefruit-bitter, with a strong orange/tangerine note. A bare hint of bready malt. Carbonation is rough but to-style.

Overall this is probably a touch too one-note grapefruit to be among my favorites. I’d like a touch more bitterness as well. Maybe some floral notes to add complexity? Still a wonderful IPA, one worth checking out if you can get a fresh bottle. (Consumed 2014-MAY-13, dated 2014-JULY-10.)

Rating: B+

About danieleharper

Chemist, rationalist, skeptic, feminist, and deeply humanist. Podcasts about Doctor Who and social justice at oispaceman.libsyn.com.

Leave a Reply

