Homebrew Bottling 2013-10-28 (Scotch Ale)

I finally bottled that peated Scotch Ale I’ve had in the fermenter for six months. I used a pound of peated malt in it, and holy shit can you taste it. It’ll definitely be a sipper, not a gulper. Fine by me.

Anyway, the trub at the bottom of the bottling bucket was the thickest I’ve ever seen.

IMG_20131028_203036

Hard to tell from the photo, but it actually nearly clogged the spigot on the bottling bucket. Might be because of that three ounces of Willamette I dry-hopped with. (Maybe.)

IMG_20131028_203418

Looks like a final gravity of 1.005 or so. Lower than anticipated. Probably end up being around 8.0-8.5% ABV. I’ll do a full review once it’s carbed up and ready to drink.

Tags: , , ,

About danieleharper

Chemist, rationalist, skeptic, feminist, and deeply humanist. Podcasts about Doctor Who and social justice at oispaceman.libsyn.com.

4 responses to “Homebrew Bottling 2013-10-28 (Scotch Ale)”

  1. Jamison says :

    Nice! Very low gravity for a Scotch Ale! I am sure that will make the peat come out more. Why did you leave it for so long? Did you Oak Age this? Cool Home Brew update man.

    • danieleharper says :

      Yeah, I got busy and didn’t get the chance to bottle it. I figured the extra age wouldn’t hurt it any. I didn’t oak-age it, but I might do some oaking next time I do a big dark beer. I’m almost certainly sending you a bottle of this — the whole reason you haven’t gotten your box yet is because I wanted to send you some.

Leave a Reply

