Nightly Beers, 2013-09-05

Despite the name of this series, it was never really going to be a nightly thing. More of a “whenever I damn well feel like typing about the beers I’m drinking” sort of thing. So you understand.

Tonight, I figured I’d drink a bit of German beer and go for one of my favorite Weizenbocks, Weihenstephaner Vitus. In my Weihenstephan weizen glass, no less.

Weihenstephaner Weizenbock

Weihenstephaner Weizenbock

Forgive the mess on my table.

Smells strongly of banana/clove. Definite yeast ester going on. Isopentyl acetate FTW! Isoamyl-acetate-3D-balls[1]

(That’s the natural yeast product that creates that banana-like aroma.)

Tastes clean, smooth, definite banana notes, hints of bubblegum. Maybe it’s the exhaustion from my fourteen-hour class/work day talking, but I don’t even taste the alcohol tonight. Schneider-Weiss Aventinus gets the press (and perhaps has a touch more complexity) but this one is top-notch as it is.

Next up, Goose Island Oktoberfest. This is the first year I’ve seen this one, so I definitely had to give it a try.

Goose Island Oktoberfest

Goose Island Oktoberfest

A lot of beer geeks discount Oktoberfest season because the beers just aren’t as aggressively flavorful as sours, DIPAs, barrel-aged monstrosities and the like, but it’s actually become one of my favorite times of the year, beer-wise. When else do you have a season that is predominantly interested in flavorful lagers? Lagers, the red-headed stepchild of the beer geek family, rarely get the attention they deserve.

How’s this one? Eh, about average. A bit overly sweet for my taste, but with a crackery dry aroma and flavor. Pretty much exactly what you expect from a beer like this. InBev or no InBev, it’s worth trying if you get a chance. Relatively cheap, too.

About danieleharper

Chemist, rationalist, skeptic, feminist, and deeply humanist. Podcasts about Doctor Who and social justice at oispaceman.libsyn.com.

Leave a Reply

