The Session Number 63: The Beer Moment

Pete Brown’s topic for this month’s Session is “The Beer Moment.” Here’s how Pete describes it:

So in that spirit, my choice of topic – with 62 topics already covered – is this: simply, the Beer Moment.

What is it?

Well, what is it to you? What does that phrase evoke for you?

That’s the most important thing here. Switch off and float downstream, what comes to mind? Don’t analyse it – what are the feelings, the emotions?

I’ve been thinking about this quite a lot recently, because I’ve been talking about it to various people who are working hard to try to improve the image of beer in the UK. Because whether we articulate it or not, whether we drink vile, sunstruck Corona or barrel aged imperial stout brewed with weasel shit, it’s about the moment far more than the liquid itself. The only people who disagree with me on this are people I wouldn’t want to share a beer with.

The moment – for me – is relaxation, reward, release, relief and refreshment. It’s a moment to savour, a moment of mateship, potential, fulfilment, anticipation, satisfaction, and sheer bliss.

It’s different from the moment you drink wine or spirits – it’s more egalitarian, more sociable. It’s not just about the flavour, nor the alcohol. It’s about the centuries of tradition and ritual, the counterpoint to an increasingly stressful life, and the commonality, the fact that it means the same thing to so many.

At least – I think it does. What does it mean to you?

I might have gone slightly off topic here, but the whole point of the Session is to get a kind of shaggy dog feel for the beer community at large, so I think it’s okay. And as a way of fostering connection between the beer blogging community and the Youtube beer community, I have done my answer on video:

I hope those of you who are visiting from the blog world will check out the wonderful beer community on Youtube. You can find my channel here, and there’s plenty more out there if you look. And those of you who are fans of mine on Youtube, I hope you check out Pete Brown’s blog linked above and read some of the other bloggers covering this month’s topic.

Tags: , ,

About danieleharper

Chemist, rationalist, skeptic, feminist, and deeply humanist. Podcasts about Doctor Who and social justice at oispaceman.libsyn.com.

4 responses to “The Session Number 63: The Beer Moment”

  1. Reuben Gray (@TaleOfAle) says :

    Thanks for sharing. Interesting to see a session post in video format.

  2. beerbecue says :

    Good post. And nice to see I was not the only video. I am a blogger, but I went all video crossover on this one.

  3. Jorge - Brew Beer And Drink It says :

    Nice video… Good way to show what the beer moment is all about…

    http://brewbeeranddrinkit.com/the-beer-moment/

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Session Number 63: The Beer Moment | Bloggers of Beer - November 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

