Founders Canadian Breakfast Stout — Tasted Alongside Founders KBS! | Beyond the Pour Beer Review

It’s been a long wait for this one.

Founders Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) hasn’t even been brewed since 2007. Yeah, I know there are some places that have put it on tap in the last four years, but those are all from kegs produced since 2007. It’s a beer that has never, ever been bottled. So when they announced that they would be releasing 750mL bottles as part of their backstage series, the entire beer geek world lost their shit.

Myself included. I’m psyched to get to try it, so psyched that I put it ahead of other beers in my upload queue and shot and edited a review the night of release, all in a (likely futile) attempt to get it reviewed first on Youtube. Since I can’t guarantee I’ll be first, I decided to open up a bottle of Founders KBS as a direct comparison to the maple bourbon-barrel version.

In short? Both are awesome beers, although CBS gets a tiny bit cloying as I get to the bottom of the 750mL bottle due to the amount of sugar. I wish it was a 12oz-er instead. The sugar makes this version even smoother than the already very-smooth KBS, but it also masks a lot of the roasty subtleties of the original beer.

In short, while both are excellent, I think KBS is actually the better beer.

Beyond the Pour grade: A+

Tags: , , ,

About danieleharper

Chemist, rationalist, skeptic, feminist, and deeply humanist. Podcasts about Doctor Who and social justice at oispaceman.libsyn.com.

Leave a Reply

